Ehlers-Danlos syndrome


Cutis hyperelastica

Ehlers-Danlos syndrome is a group of inherited disorders of collagen metabolism.

There are at least 10 subtypes with a variable expression of skin fragility, hyperelasticity of the skin and hypermobility of the joints.

The major features differentiating more common types of Ehlers-Danlos syndrome are listed.

Types of Ehlers-Danlos syndrome and their main clinical features:
  • Type I Hyperextensible skin, hypermobile joints and papyraceous scars.
  • Type II Hyperextensible skin, hypermobile joints and papyraceous scars, but more mild.
  • Type III Hypermobile joints with minimal skin abnormality.
  • Type IV Thin fragile skin and blood vessels, but normal joints.
  • Type V Resembles type II, but ecchymoses more marked.
  • Type VI Soft skin, keratoconus and intra-ocular hemorrhage.
  • Type VII Extreme joint hypermobility often with congenital hip dislocation.
  • Type VIII Hyperelastic skin and joints with periodontitis.
  • Type IX Bladder diverticula, inguinal hernias, mild skin changes, skeletal defects.
  • Type X Mild skin and joint changes, but prominent bruising.

(after J.L. Burton, 1992)


  • There is no effective treatment.
  • Fragile skin that has been torn may be approximated with tissue glue, as sutures hold only very poorly.
Ehlers danlos syndrome

Suggested Doctors

Need Help?
Get answers from experienced doctors
Ask Now

Before & After Photos

Suggested Doctors